Illustration Narrative - Folklore Irlandais

Illustration Narrative

Scènes du folklore irlandais

Dans cet article, je parlerai un peu des illustrations que j’ai réalisé pour un projet de narration d’histoires du folklore irlandais. Ce sont certainement mes types d’illustrations préférés, et j’ai adoré rechercher ces personnages et développer les scènes.

Dans cet article, je parlerai un peu des illustrations que j’ai réalisé pour un projet de narration d’histoires du folklore irlandais. Ce sont certainement mes types d’illustrations préférés, et j’ai adoré rechercher ces personnages et développer les scènes.

Q : Ces illustrations étaient-elles planifiées ?

R: Oui. Contrairement à certains des mes travaux personnels, c'était un projet de narration qui suivait un scénario. Chacun des croquis d'illustration a été réalisé conformément au texte, puis envoyé pour être approuvés avant la réalisation de l'art final.

Q : Comment as-tu sélectionné les scènes?

R : Je souligne les passages du texte qui me semblent les plus importants ou les plus éclatantes, et je commence le processus d'esquisse en créant des thumbnails. J'essaie de faire de nombreux croquis différents pour que la personne qui a commandé les illustrations ait le choix entre plusieurs options. 

Ces thumbnails sont ensuite transformées en croquis, comme ceux que vous pouvez voir dans la galerie ci-dessous. Ceux-ci ont été envoyés au client pour approbation, puis ceux sélectionnés ont été nettoyés et modifiés selon leurs suggestions.

Irish Folklore narrative illustration - A Hare and a Leprechaun, characters of an Irish folk tale
Irish Folklore narrative illustration - A Hare and a Leprechaun, characters of an Irish folk tale

Q : Ces illustrations étaient-elles planifiées ?

R: Oui. Contrairement à certains des mes travaux personnels, this was a storytelling project that followed a script. Each of the illustration sketches were done according to the text and then sent for approval before any final art was done.

Q : Comment as-tu sélectionné les scènes?

R : Je souligne les passages du texte qui me semblent les plus importants ou les plus éclatantes, et je commence le processus d'esquisse en créant des thumbnails. J'essaie de faire de nombreux croquis différents pour que la personne qui a commandé les illustrations ait le choix entre plusieurs options. 

Ces thumbnails sont ensuite transformées en croquis, comme ceux que vous pouvez voir dans la galerie ci-dessous. Ceux-ci ont été envoyés au client pour approbation, puis ceux sélectionnés ont été nettoyés et modifiés selon leurs suggestions.

Pour la couverture de Le Lièvre et Le Lutin, le croquis a commencé par une option pour la page de titre, qui s'est ensuite développée en une scène complète. Une modification a été apportée à la conception du personnage du Lièvre, conformément à la demande du client. La composition de la scène finale a été choisie en pensant à l'application : une couverture vidéo Youtube.

Pour la couverture de Les Tombeaux et le Roi des Fées, il y avait quelques versions avant la forme finale. Il a été décidé que la scène représenterait les personnages dans deux périodes différentes : la jeune fille chantant près des tombes et étant regardée par le roi des fées et son bien-aimé déjà âgé regardant au loin.

For the cover of The Hare and The Leprechaun the sketch started in an option for the title page, which then developed into a full scene.

A change was made to the design of the Hare character, as per the commissioner’s  request. The composition of the final scene was chosen thinking of the application: a Youtube video cover.

Pour la couverture de Les Tombeaux et le Roi des Fées, il y avait quelques versions avant la forme finale. Il a été décidé que la scène représenterait les personnages dans deux périodes différentes : la jeune fille chantant près des tombes et étant regardée par le roi des fées et son bien-aimé déjà âgé regardant au loin.

Q : Comment avez-vous créé l’apparence des personnages?

R : J'ai pris en considération non seulement la description générale incluse dans le texte, mais j'ai également effectué de nombreuses recherches pour m'assurer que les détails avaient un sens. Le debout de l'histoire se déroule à une époque plus moderne, donc les vêtements de l’homme ne sont pas trop différents de ceux que nous voyons aujourd’hui. La jeune femme, quant à elle, apparaît à l'époque de la Première Guerre mondiale, j'ai donc adapté son style aux photos de cette époque.

Vous remarquerez que le leprechaun ne ressemble en rien à la version moderne aux cheveux roux, tout en vert, que l'on voit dans les événements de la Saint Patrick. En effet, j'ai utilisé des descriptions tirées de textes écrits au XIXe siècle, qui le décrivent portant de riches vêtements brodés aux couleurs vives et un chapeau tricorne.

Malheureusement, ce projet n'a pas été mené à son terme (ce qui est triste, j'étais vraiment excité de travailler avec des légendes irlandaises), mais vous pouvez voir la vidéo publiée pour Le Lièvre et le Lutin ici.

Q : Comment avez-vous créé l’apparence des personnages?

R : J'ai pris en considération non seulement la description générale incluse dans le texte, mais j'ai également effectué de nombreuses recherches pour m'assurer que les détails avaient un sens. Le debout de l'histoire se déroule à une époque plus moderne, donc les vêtements de l’homme ne sont pas trop différents de ceux que nous voyons aujourd’hui. La jeune femme, quant à elle, apparaît à l'époque de la Première Guerre mondiale, j'ai donc adapté son style aux photos de cette époque.

Vous remarquerez que le leprechaun ne ressemble en rien à la version moderne aux cheveux roux, tout en vert, que l'on voit dans les événements de la Saint Patrick. En effet, j'ai utilisé des descriptions tirées de textes écrits au XIXe siècle, qui le décrivent portant de riches vêtements brodés aux couleurs vives et un chapeau tricorne.

Malheureusement, ce projet n'a pas été mené à son terme (ce qui est triste, j'étais vraiment excité de travailler avec des légendes irlandaises), mais vous pouvez voir la vidéo publiée pour Le Lièvre et le Lutin ici.

Malheureusement, ce projet n'a pas été mené à son terme (ce qui est triste, j'étais vraiment excité de travailler avec des légendes irlandaises), mais vous pouvez voir la vidéo publiée pour Le Lièvre et le Lutin ici.

Des questions, suggestions, propositions? Envoiez-nous un message!

    Comments are closed.

    Désolé, pas de clic droit sur cette page :)

Narrative illustration – Irish Folklore

Narrative Illustration:

Scenes from Irish Folklore

In this post I’ll talk a bit about the illustrations I made for an Irish folklore storytelling project. These are definitely my favourite type of illustration to make, and I loved researching these characters and developing the scenes.

In this post I’ll talk a bit about the illustrations I made for an Irish folklore storytelling project. These are definitely my favourite type of illustration to make, and I loved researching these characters and developing the scenes.

Q: Were these illustrations planned?

A: Yes. Unlike some of personal work, this was storytelling project that followed a script. Each of the illustration sketches were done according to the text and then sent for approval before any final art was done.

Q: How did you select the scenes?

A: I underline passages in the text that I feel are most important or striking, and I start the sketching process by making thumbnails. I try to make many different sketches so the person who commissioned the illustrations has options to chose from. 

These thumbnails are then turned into rough sketches, such as the ones you can see in the gallery bellow. These were sent to the commissioner for approval, and then the selected ones got cleaned up and changed according to their suggestions.

Irish Folklore narrative illustration - A Hare and a Leprechaun, characters of an Irish folk tale
Irish Folklore narrative illustration - A Hare and a Leprechaun, characters of an Irish folk tale

Q: Were these illustrations planned?

A: Yes. Unlike some of personal work, this was a storytelling project that followed a script. Each of the illustration sketches were done according to the text and then sent for approval before any final art was done.

Q: How did you select the scenes?

A: I underline passages in the text that I feel are most important or striking, and I start the sketching process by making thumbnails. I try to make many different sketches so the person who commissioned the illustrations has options to chose from. 

These thumbnails are then turned into rough sketches, such as the ones you can see in the gallery bellow. These were sent to the commissioner for approval, and then the selected ones got cleaned up and changed according to their suggestions.

For the cover of The Hare and The Leprechaun the sketch started in an option for the title page, which then developed into a full scene. A change was made to the design of the Hare character, as per the commissioner’s  request. The composition of the final scene was chosen thinking of the application: a Youtube video cover.

For the cover of The Tombs and The Fairy King there where a couple of drafts before the final form. It was decided that the scene would portray the characters in two different periods of time – the girl singing by the tombs and being watched by the fairy king and her loved one already aged looking in the distance.

For the cover of The Hare and The Leprechaun the sketch started in an option for the title page, which then developed into a full scene.

A change was made to the design of the Hare character, as per the commissioner’s  request. The composition of the final scene was chosen thinking of the application: a Youtube video cover.

For the cover of The Tombs and The Fairy King there where a couple of drafts before the final form. It was decided that the scene would portray the characters in two different periods of time – the girl singing by the tombs and being watched by the fairy king and her loved one already aged looking in the distance.

Q: How did you come up with the appearance for the characters?

A: I took into consideration not only the general description included in the text, but also did a lot of research to make sure the details made sense. This story happens in a more modern time, so the man’s clothes are not too different than what we’d see today. The young woman on the other hand appears around the time of WWI, so I matched her style to pictures from that time.

You’ll notice that the leprechaun looks nothing like the modern red haired, dressed all in green version we see in Saint Patricks events. That is because I used descriptions from texts written in the 19th century, which describe him wearing rich embroidered clothes with strong colours, and a tricorn hat.

Unfortunately this project didn’t go to it’s full length (which is sad, I was really excited to work with Irish legends), but you can see the published video for The Hare and the Leprechaun here.

Q: How did you come up with the appearance for the characters?

A: I took into consideration not only the general description included in the text, but also did a lot of research to make sure the details made sense. This story happens in a more modern time, so the man’s clothes are not too different than what we’d see today. The young woman on the other hand appears around the time of WWI, so I matched her style to pictures from that time.

You’ll notice that the leprechaun looks nothing like the modern red haired, dressed all in green version we see in Saint Patricks events. That is because I used descriptions from texts written in the 19th century, which describe him wearing rich embroidered clothes with strong colours, and a tricorn hat.

Unfortunately this project didn’t go to it’s full length (which is sad, I was really excited to work with Irish legends), but you can see the published video for The Hare and the Leprechaun here.

Unfortunately this project didn’t go to it’s full length (which is sad, I was really excited to work with Irish legends), but you can see the published video for The Hare and the Leprechaun here.

Questions, suggestions, propositions? Send us a message!

    Comments are closed.

    Sorry, no right clicks in this page :)